How Can I Save Water?

Inside

Inside

Laundry

Did you know that about 20% of the water you use inside your home is spent on laundry?

The average household in Abu Dhabi uses the washing machine once per person per week. And each load of laundry uses between 75 and 190 Litres per wash. That makes your laundry room a great place to save more water. Washing machines come in a range of sizes and the amount of water used per load depends on which model you own.

Follow these tips to save water on every load of laundry and make every drop count:

  • Wash full loads only. Most washing machines use the same amount of water whether they are full or empty. So to avoid wasting any extra water, only wash when the machine is full.
  • Select the appropriate cycle or water level for the size of your load. Use less water and shorter cycles when possible. Some newer models can even sense the size of your load and adjust water levels for you.       
  • If you wash clothes in a sink, install a water efficient tap or add an aerator to save water. Plug the sink instead of using running water and use only as much soap as you really need—more soap requires more water to wash it away.
  • When you’re ready to buy a new washing machine, many new models can help you save water every time you wash. Look for:
    • Front-loading models – They use far less water per wash than top-loading or twin-tub washing machines. Front-loaders use only half as much as top-loaders do.
    • Water and energy-efficient settings – Many models now have eco-friendly settings that use less water and electricity per load. Some models can even sense the size of your load and adjust water levels for you.
    • Good general water efficiency – Compare each model’s average consumption per wash. For example, a 7kg machine that uses 70 Litres per wash would be a good choice.
    • The right size for your household - Select a size that’s appropriate for your family, not simply the largest capacity. Using a machine that is bigger than you need wastes extra, unnecessary water and energy.
  • If your clothes dryer requires you to empty a condensation (water) container, give the water to your plants or put it to another good use instead of dumping it down the drain.

Did you know that on average, washing machines available in Abu Dhabi are around 20% larger than in Europe? This is because we typically have larger families in this region, but these machines use more water and electricity.



Power tip intext 1
  Power tip: Washing with cold water saves electricity. Cold water is best for darker fabrics as it helps clothes keep their colour and reduces the likelihood of dyes running.


Eco tip intext 1  Eco-tip: Choose natural, biodegradable and low-phosphate laundry detergents whenever possible. They reduce the amount of chemicals released into the environment and ease the strain on Abu Dhabi’s waste treatment plants. 


Power tip intext 1  Power tip: Run washing machines during off-peak times (before 2 pm or after 8 pm) to help avoid extra stress on Abu Dhabi’s energy grid and contribute to collective energy savings.

Eco tip intext 1 Eco-tip :Looking for electrical-efficient appliances? Search certified products currently carrying the Abu Dhabi Quality and Conformity Council (QCC) Trustmark for Environmental Performance by category, brand, model name and/or model number on the QCC database.

كيف يمكنني توفير المياه؟

داخل البيت

داخل البيت

تنظيف الملابس

هل تعلم أن غسيل الثياب يستهلك 20% من الماء المستخدم داخل منزلك؟

تستخدم الأسرة المتوسطة في أبوظبي الغسالة مرة واحدة للشخص الواحد كل أسبوع. تستخدم كل حمولة غسيل ما بين 75 و190 لترا من المياه لكل غسلة. إن هذا يجعل من غرفة الغسيل في منزلك مكانا عظيما لتوفير المزيد من المياه. هناك غسالات من مختلف الأحجام وتتفاوت في كمية المياه المستخدمة لكل حمولة.

اتبع هذه النصائح لتوفير المياه في كل حمولة من الغسيل واجعل لكل قطرة أهمية:

  • اغسل فقط بحمولة كاملة. تستخدم معظم الغسالات نفس كمية المياه سواء كانت ممتلئة أو فارغة. لتجنب هدر أي مياه اضافية، اغسل فقط عندما تكون الغسالة ممتلئة.
  • اختر الدورة أو مستوى المياه المتناسب مع حجم التحميل. استخدم كميات أقل من المياه ودورات أقصر عندما يكون ذلك ممكنا. يمكن لبعض أنواع الغسالات الجديدة أن تستشعر حجم الحمولة، وتضبط كميات المياه وفق ذلك.       
  • إذا كنت تغسل الملابس في الحوض، استخدم حنفية ماء كفؤة أو ركب جهاز للإشباع بالهواء لت.وفير المياه. سد البالوعة بدلا من استخدام المياه الجارية واستخدم فقط كمية الصابون الذي تحتاجها حقا، كثرة الصابون تتطلب المزيد من المياه لغسلها.
  • عند شراء غسالة جديدة، ستجد أن العديد من الموديلات الجديدة تساعد على توفير المياه في كل غسلة. ابحث عن:
    • الأنواع التي تحمّل من الأمام - لأنها تستخدم مياها أقل بكثير من تلك التي تحمّل من الأعلى أو ذات الحوضين. يمكن للغسالات التي تحمّل من الأمام توفير ما يصل الى نصف المياه التي تستخدم في الأنواع الأخرى.
    • الإعدادات الموفرة للمياه وللطاقة – تتوفر في العديد من الغسالات الآن إعدادات رفيقة بالبيئة وتستخدم كميات أقل من المياه والكهرباء لكل حمولة. يمكن لبعض أنواع الغسالات الجديدة أن تستشعر حجم الحمولة، وتضبط كميات المياه وفق ذلك.
    • الكفاءة الجيدة في استخدام المياه – قارن متوسط الاستهلاك لكل نوع من الغسيل. على سبيل المثال، فإن جهازا بسعة 7 كلجم ويستخدم 70 ليترا في الغسلة يعتبر خيارا جيدا .
    • الحجم المناسب لمنزلك - اختر غسالة بحجم مناسب لعائلتك، وليس مجرد غسالة ذات سعة أكبر. استخدامك لغسالة أكبر مما تحتاجه يهدر كميات إضافية من المياه والطاقة بلا داعي.
  • هل تعلم أن الغسالات المتوفرة في أبوظبي هي في المتوسط أكبر حجما بحوالي 20 ٪ مما هي عليه في أوروبا؟ وذلك لأن لدينا في هذه المنطقة أسرا كبيرة في العادة، ولكن هذه الآلات تستخدم مزيدا من المياه والكهرباء.


إذا كانت آلة تجفيف الملابس في منزلك تحتاج إفراغ حاوية التكثيف (المياه)، فاستخدم هذا الماء لري النباتات أو في أي غاية حسنة أخرى بدلا من القائه في الصرف الصحي.


Power tip intext 1
  نصيحة تتعلق بالطاقة: الغسل بالماء البارد يوفر الكهرباء. الماء البارد هو أيضا أفضل للأقمشة ذات الألوان الأكثر قتامة كما أنه يساعد على الحفاظ على لون الملابس ويقلل من احتمال بهت الأصباغ.


Eco tip intext 1  نصيحة بيئية: اختر المنظفات الطبيعية والقابلة للتحلل والمنخفضة الفوسفات كلما أمكن ذلك، لأنها تقلل من كمية المواد الكيميائية التي تطلق في البيئة وتخفف الضغط على محطات معالجة النفايات في أبوظبي. 


Power tip intext 1  نصيحة متعلقة بالطاقة: شغل الغسالات خارج أوقات الذروة (أي قبل الساعة 2:00 ظهرا وبعد 08:00 مساء) للمساعدة على تجنب وضع إجهاد اضافي على شبكة الطاقة في أبوظبي والمساهمة في التوفير الجماعي للطاقة.

Eco tip intext 1 نصيحة بيئية : هل تبحث عن أجهزة  ذات كفاءة في إستهلاك الكهرباء ؟ ستجد المنتجات المعتمدة التي تحمل علامة الثقة للأداء البيئي الممنوحة من قبل مجلس أبوظبي للجودة بالإستعلام عن طريق الفئة ، العلامة التجارية ، وإسم أو رقم الطرازعلى قاعدة بيانات المجلس.