How Can I Save Water?

Inside

Inside

Ablutions

“We made from Water every living thing” (Qur’an 21:30)

Water plays a central role in Islam, emphasized in the Quran and daily ritual. Purity and cleanliness are essential as prayers carried out in an impure state are not valid. Purification through ablution, or “Wudu,” is an obligatory component of the Islamic prayer ritual and Muslim worshippers carry out this process before each of the five daily prayers.

Wudu involves washing exposed body parts with clean water to purify oneself before prayer. The Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) urged moderation when using water during ablution. He, Himself used a minimal amount of water, using just one Mudd of water (the equivalent of 625 ml) when carrying out Wudu and only five Mudds for Ghusl (slightly more than 3 litres).

The Prophet once saw Sa'd performing Wudu and said to him: "Why are you wasting all this water?" Sa'd asked, "Is there wastefulness even in performing Wudu?" The Prophet replied, "Yes, even if you were at a flowing river."

Here are some ideas to help you save water while performing Wudu either at a sink or an ablution area:

  • We highly recommend this tip first to understand how much water you normally use and how much you can start to save: Carry out Wudu over a bowl or a small bucket to catch the water. Measure the amount or mark the line and try to use less the next time, using some of the tips below.

Did you know that an open tap can use between 10 and 20 Litres per minute?


  • Aim to use only one Litre of water. Or even better, try to use just one Mudd (625 mL) like the Prophet Muhammad did (peace be upon him).
  • When using a tap, open it just a little to use a small flow of water. Letting water flow strongly from the tap wastes unnecessary water.
  • Turn off the tap between each step. Fill your hand with water and turn off the tap. Use only that amount per step.
  • Affix an aerator to your tap to use up to 50% less water. Aerators are small fittings that screw on to the tip of your tap. They save water by reducing the flow but often give the feeling of improved pressure. Aerators are available at most good hardware stores.
  • Instead of using a tap, use a mug or small bottle (0.5 Litres) for Wudu. Pour a small amount of water into your palm and use that amount for each step. This will also help you measure how much water you use and help you use less. Try to use just one bottle or mug if possible.
  • In addition, you may want to suggest these tips to others at your Mosque, or help organize efforts for improving water efficiency at your Mosque’s facilities.
  • We encourage you to share your Waterwise ideas, stories, suggestions, photos and videos with us and with others on Facebook, Twitter and the social networks you use (#waterwise). Together we can save so much water every day.

Eco tip intext 1 Eco-tip : Looking for water-efficient products? Search certified products currently carrying the Abu Dhabi Quality and Conformity Council (QCC) Trustmark for Environmental Performance by category, brand, model name and/or model number on the QCC database.

كيف يمكنني توفير المياه؟

داخل البيت

داخل البيت

الوضوء

قال تعالى: "وجعلنا من الماء كل شيء حي" (سورة الأنبياء - الآية 30)

للماء دور مركزي في الإسلام، كما يؤكد ذلك القرآن الكريم والأحاديث الشريفة والشعائر اليومية. الطهارة والنظافة ركنان أساسيان عند تأدية الصلوات، والتطهر بالوضوء واجب إلزامي من طقوس الصلاة ويقوم به المصلون قبل كل صلاة.

يشمل الوضوء غسل أجزاء الجسم المكشوفة بالماء النظيف للتطهر قبل الصلاة. حثّ الرسول الكريم (صلي الله عليه وسلم) على الاعتدال في استخدام الماء أثناء الوضوء، وكان (صلي الله عليه وسلم) يستخدم كمية ضئيلة من المياه في وضوئه، وذلك باستخدام مد واحد من الماء (أي ما يعادل 625 مل) عند الوضوء، وصاعا (أي خمسة مدود أو أكثر بقليل من 3 لترات) للغُسل.

مر النبي (صلى الله عليه وسلم) بسعد بن أبي وقّاص وهو يتوضأ فقال: "ما هذا السَّرَفُ يا سَعد؟". قال: "أفي الوضوء سرف؟" قال: "نعَم وإن كًنت على نهر جار".

إليك بعض الأفكار التي تساعد على توفير المياه أثناء الوضوء سواء في حوض أو في متوضأ:

  • أول ما نوصي به هو أن تبدأ بمعرفة كمية المياه التي تستخدمها في العادة، ثم مقدار الماء الذي ستبدأ في توفيره: قم بالوضوء فوق وعاء أو دلو صغير لجمع الماء المتساقط، ثم قس الكمية أو ضع علامة على مستوى الماء. حاول استخدام كميات أقل في المرات القادمة، وذلك باستخدام الاقتراحات التالية.

هل تعلم أن صنبورا مفتوحا يتدفق منه من 10 إلى 20 لتر في الدقيقة الواحدة؟


  • حاول استخدام ليتر واحد من الماء فقط بل، وأفضل من ذلك، استخدام مدٍ واحدٍ فقط (625 مل) كسنة الرسول (صلى الله عليه وسلم).
  • لا تنفتح الصنبور عند استخدامه إلا قليلا لتقلل كمية الماء المتدفق، إذ أن في التدفق الزائد منه هدر لا لزوم له.
  • املأ يدك بالماء بين خطوات الوضوء ثم اغلق الصنبور. ثم أعد ذلك للخطوات التالية.
  • ثبّت جهاز الإشباع بالهواء إلى الصنبور لتوفر ما يصل إلى 50٪ من الماء المستخدم. هذه الأجهزة هي تركيبات صغيرة تثبت على فوّهة الصنبور، وتوفر المياه عن طريق الحد من التدفق ولكنها غالبا ما تعطي الشعور بتحسن الضغط. يمكنك شراء أجهزة الاشباع بالهواء من مخازن التجهيزات المنزلية والمواد الصحية.
  • يمكنك أن تستخدم كوبا كبيرا أو زجاجة صغيرة (نصف لتر) بدل استخدام الصنبور لوضوئك. صب كمية صغيرة من الماء في راحة يدك واستخدم هذا القدر لكل خطوة. سيمكّنك هذا أيضا من قياس كمية المياه التي تستخدمها وسيساعدك على توفير أفضل. حاول استخدام مقدار زجاجة واحدة أو كوبا واحدا فقط إذا كان ذلك ممكنا.
  • إضافة إلى ذلك، لمَ لا تسدي هذه النصائح للآخرين في المسجد، أو تساعد في تنظيم الجهود لتحسين كفاءة استخدام المياه في مرافق المسجد الذي تصلي فيه.
  • نشجعكم على المشاركة معنا ومع الآخرين في الفيسبوك وتويتر بالأفكار والقصص والاقتراحات والصور وأشرطة الفيديو المتعلقة بـتوفير المياه.

 

Eco tip intext 1 نصيحة بيئية : هل تبحث عن منتجات ذات كفاءة في إستهلاك المياه ؟ ستجد المنتجات المعتمدة التي تحمل علامة الثقة للأداء البيئي الممنوحة من قبل مجلس أبوظبي للجودة بالإستعلام عن طريق الفئة ، العلامة التجارية ، وإسم أو رقم الطرازعلى قاعدة بيانات المجلس